Is sticky rice gluten free?
Yes. Despite being called “glutinous,” sticky rice does not contain gluten. The name simply refers to its sticky and glue-like texture.
Why is sticky rice sticky?
Sticky rice gets its infamous stickiness from starch; or rather, one type of starch in particular. Other starchy foods contain two starch components—amylose and amylopectin. Sticky rice, however, is mostly amylopectin and while it does contain trace amounts of amylose, it’s an insignificant amount. It’s the amylopectin, which is water-soluble and breaks apart in hot water that creates the signature stickiness of sticky rice.
So, now that you’ve got the steps and skills, you can make perfect sticky rice whenever you want right from the comfort of your own home. Serve it with entrees, desserts or even on its own. Skip the takeout temptation and enjoy!